Addis Ababa University

About This Partner

Addis Ababa University is a state university in Addis Ababa, the capital of Ethiopia. Originally called the University College of Addis Ababa at its establishment in 1950, it was later renamed Haile Selassie I University in 1962 after the Ethiopian Emperor Haile Selassie I. The institution received its current name in 1975. Addis Ababa University has fourteen campuses. Twelve of these are situated in Addis Ababa, and one is located in Bishoftu, about 45 kilometers away. It also maintains branches in many cities throughout Ethiopia. The government assigns qualified students to these universities upon completion of secondary school. AAU currently has more than 47,500 students and ten colleges. 

Addis Ababa University  is comprised of the following colleges/faculties:
  •  Social Sciences
  •  Humanities, Language Studies, Journalism and Communication
  •  Development Studies
  •  Business and Economics
  •  Law and Governance Studies
  •  Education and Behavioral Studies
  •  Natural and Computational Sciences
  •  Skunder Boghossian College of Performing and Visual Arts
  •  Veterinary Medicine and Agriculture
  •  Health Sciences



Memorandum of Understanding

For more information about this partner, please contact the Office of Global Engagement.


Addis Ababa University Main Gate, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia