Renmin University of China

About This Partner

Renmin University of China (RUC) dates back to 1937 when it was originally called the Shanbei Public School and established at the beginning of the Second Sino-Japanese War.  Today, RUC is recognised for its strengths in the fields of humanities and social sciences although it also offers programs in natural sciences, information technology and environmental sciences. RUC is located in the Haidan District of Beijing, an area to the northwest of the capital’s urban core and comprising more than two million inhabitants.

The university is made up of 26 schools. It offers 75 undergraduate majors, four second-bachelor degrees, 124 doctoral programs, 183 master’s programs, nine interdisciplinary majors and 20 professional degrees. Around 4.5 million volumes are held by the university library along with close to 20,000 e-books.

Renmin University is comprised of the following schools:
  •  Humanities
  •  Social Sciences
  •  Economics
  •  Law & Politics
  •  Science & Technology


Memorandum of Understanding

For more information about this partner, please contact the Office of Global Engagement.


Renmin University of China, Zhongguancun Street, Haidian, China