Soochow University

About This Partner

Soochow University was first founded in 1900 and after 1949 was known as Jiangsu Teacher's College. In 1982, the name Soochow University was revived. It currently has about 47,000 undergraduate, graduate, and professional students. Soochow University offers 130 undergraduate majors, 51 first-level master's degrees, 24 professional master's degrees, 28 first-level doctoral programs, 1 professional doctoral program, and 29 post-doctoral mobile stations in 12 university subjects. These subjects areas are philosophy, economics, law, education, literature, history, science, engineering, agriculture, medicine, management, and art. The university is divided across three campuses, Tiancihuang Campus, Dushu Lake Campus and Yangcheng Lake Campus. Soochow University strives to be an internationally-renowned, high-level research university. 

Soochow University is comprised of the following colleges/faculties:
  •  Art
  •  Architecture
  •  Communication
  •  Politics and Public Administration
  •  Marxism
  •  Foreign Language
  •  Business
  •  Law
  •  Education
  •  Music
  •  Physical Education
  •  Mathematical Sciences
  •  Physical Science and Technology
  •  Optoelectronic Science and Engineering
  •  Energy
  •  Materials and Chemical Engineering
  •  Nano Science and Technology
  •  Computer Science and Technology
  •  Electronic Information
  •  Iron and Steel Institute
  •  Textile and Garment Engineering


Memorandum of Understanding

For more information about this partner, please contact the Office of Global Engagement.


Soochow University, Suzhou, Jiangsu, China